The Final Countdown: 25 Days…

Oh hello Uttersons, and hello May. Not a lot going on for me this month… oh wait, I’M ONLY GETTING BLOODY MARRIED!

Image via Tumblr

Image via Tumblr

The regular readers amongst you may have spotted that there was no post last week. Sincere apologies; I was not ill, my computer didn’t break down, I didn’t forget… I simply didn’t get round to writing something. Time has just disappeared since the Hen Do To End All Hen Dos and, if I’m honest, I’m finding the whole thing a little mind boggling. The Wedding has always been ‘in the future’; a reachable and yet unreachable thing; a hill I’ve been climbing with no peak in sight. I had no idea that the Hen Do would end up being ‘the hill’, and that once that was done I’d start free falling towards the finish line…

Deep.

And now here I am with a mere three and a half weeks to go until the day is here.  So what have I been getting up to??

Decisions, Decided

I have to say one of the most enjoyable aspects of wedding planning has been the procrastinating, the deliberating, the collecting of ideas. “Oh now that’s a pretty ceremony backdrop, I’ll add it to my Pinterest board”. “I bloody love this song, it’s going on the Potential Walking Down The Aisle Song list”.  But at some point the Pinterest boards and the lists have to come to an end and actual decisions have to be made.

There are people in this world (you may be one of them) who HATE procrastinating.  My friend and bridesmaid, Louise, is a perfect example. A super organised bride, she pretty much had everything done within months of getting engaged and was able to get on with her life whilst she waited for the day to come round. Me, on the other hand, I kinda like deliberating. I’m one of those people who wants EVERYTHING on the menu, starts panicking and yelling ‘Come back to me!’ at the waiter when he’s taking our order, does a frantic Eeany Meany Miney Mo game in my head to choose the dish I want, and then changes my mind just as he’s walking away before instantly regretting it.

The last couple of weeks have been full of decisions. Paperwork has had to be sent off and final orders have had to be made. I can now pretty much consider my vow choices, the ceremony backdrop, confetti colours, table arrangements, wedding program and menu design, DONE. I say “pretty much” because there is, of course, still time to change my mind!

Playing with the table bits... it's all coming together!

Playing with the table bits… it’s all coming together!

Budget? What budget?

The title says it all really. My much-loved and carefully adhered-to budget spreadsheet has gone to pot and my online shopping habit has gone in to meltdown.  A quick play with the calculator this morning puts me roughly on track still… but I’m no longer counting if I’m honest. Outside lighting, extra festoons, paper and printing, replacement shoes for the Miu-Whos, confetti, glassine bags, guestbook, pens, picture frames, votives, a cake topper…. when does it stop??!!

The Song That Says Everything

If there has been one thing that has been driving me absolutely round the bend though, it would be the ceremony music. Or specifically, the ‘processional’ and ‘recessional’ as they call it over in the States.

It’s not that I have a problem with coming up with song ideas; I love music and have been creating song lists in my head since day dot. My problem is my fiancé who doesn’t like an awful lot of music and is insistent that we have something a) wedding appropriate and b) devoid of emotion. Hmm, I’m afraid the two kinda go hand in hand, my love.

Genuine contenders to accompany me down the aisle have been:

Can’t Help Falling In Love With You by Ingrid Michaelson (the front runner for pretty much my entire engagement but deemed ‘too sad’ by both Paul and my Mum).

Promise This- a live lounge cover by Adele (the first minute is ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL but then I realised the lyrics were actually about death.)

Fast Car by Tracey Chapman- (such a rare treat for both me and Paul to love a song-and he actually has a fast car-  this was a strong contender for a couple of days, but again, it’s actually quite a sad sentiment with pretty inappropriate lyrics for a wedding.)

Here Comes The Sun- a George Harrison classic although I think I’d just use a guitar solo. (Aside from the fact I feel like I’m calling myself ‘the sun’, I have no affiliation or emotional connection with The Beatles. I can see why it’s a popular choice though- simple, sweet and not too soppy.)

In the end I don’t think I’m going with any of the above, although Here Comes The Sun is my emergency back-up. The song I’ve chosen is upbeat, sweet, romantic, and a little unexpected… but I’m keeping it to myself for now.  It’s a bit like choosing a wedding dress, you ask too many people and you get too many opinions.

I’ll share the ‘recessional’ with you though, mainly because I want to prove to Paul that not being familiar with a song does not make it, quote, ‘shit’. I hadn’t heard of it either, but saw that this couple walked out to it, liked their wedding and their style, liked the song title…. LOVED the song. If this doesn’t get the party started, I don’t know what will.

Turn it up, folks, and spend the next 5 minutes feeling happy.

And on that note I’ve got to love you and leave you.  So much to do and so little time. The schedule may go a little off kilter over the next couple of weeks but I will be in and out, and I hope you hang in there… we’re so close to the end!

Other brides-to-be, how are you lovely lot doing? Plans coming together and decisions being made? How long do you have left?? Would love to get chatting today so do say Hi…

Sama xxx

17 thoughts on “The Final Countdown: 25 Days…

  1. 25 days left for me too!!! Can’t believe that it’s almost here after so long of it being so far away!! Good luck with the last few bits of planning xoxo

  2. You sound the exact same as me! I was putting off really simple decisions for months and months but with only 29 days to go now I too have recently had to make some decisions!

    Luckily me & Al haven’t had your troubles with ceremony music as our musical tastes are pretty similar, but we are seriously procrastinating on our program as we just don’t know if we have the skills to make it look like we want it to and don’t want to blow our budget by getting them done pro!

    • I have to say I’ve been very lucky with stationery goods with the lovely Kate Ruth Romey at hand, but I feel your pain! I attempted it myself but soon gave up… You’ll get there! Keep it simple and print it on some really lovely, textured card and they’ll look a treat x

  3. Hi, I’m get married on 25th May and in Kent too! It being 1st May has definitely brought the reality that its just around the corner! It was just a weekend task doing craft things for the wedding but its now every evening (shame I actually have a day job!). Last night was mocking up pew ends and the night before was sticking ribbons to jars to eventually contain sweets. Tonight maybe finishing the order of services for our church wedding. Love reading your blog so I can compare how my preparations are going. Good luck with all your final preparations!

  4. I’ve been umming and ahhing about my guest outfit and cake contribution since last year, so I dread to think what I will be like planning an actual whole wedding. Think I’ll have to leave that to you aka the pro.
    Still debating nail varnish and lipstick shades. (I really need to go out more!)

  5. Amazing!! You’re nearly there … Exciting!
    Yes, forget the budget. You’re I’m free fall now. I can associate to the music scenario. We wanted background music for the meal. All the songs we chose seemed to be able death/loss/cheating. It’s so hard!
    My personal “entrance with a difference” song has been my cousin Marina who had the traditional big fat greek wedding (think 2000 to the reception.., although it was actually smallish. Just 300 to the sit down dinner). She and her new husband rocked into the dinner to the Subways… RocknRoll Queen. It had everyone a whooping and really showed off their personalities amongst the tradition.

    Remember whatever details you chose will be perfect in the end because getting married to your love in front of family and friends is enough to create such an amazing feeling that nothing else really matters.

  6. I think you shouldn’t conform to what is deemed wedding appropriate, if you both have a song that means something or that you both love, I say go for it! We both love Roy Orbison’s In Dreams and had that when I walked down the aisle, I didn’t care what others may think!

  7. I am a total procrastinator!!! I still have 12 weeks to go, so nowhere near panic stations yet… despite my reoccurring nightmare that my hubby to be and i turn up to the lovely castle on our wedding day but that no guests are there, no food to be served, no wine to drink and i’m in jeans and a T shirt!!! WTF?!! We have both been laughing about the fact we need to get a serious wriggle on, but still… done nothing! Oh apart from buy a vintage car on ebay as our wedding transport that needs total engine refurbishment and to be towed all the way from it’s current resting spot in PARIS to my driveway in SCOTLAND! See? nowhere near panic stations…
    Sooooooooo excited to hear your run-up-to-the-big-day chat and will be checking the blog regularly as per ushe. Yay to May! xxx

  8. I’m sooo excited for you, Sama!

    Wishing you all the best for the final preparations. Try not to stress too much, it’s going to be amazing!

    Remember that wise quote about your wedding being a party and a celebration not a performance – if at the end of the day, you’re married to the one you love, it all went perfectly 🙂 xx

  9. Hi Sama! Just wanted to say how much I’m enjoying reading your blog alongside my own wedding preparations. I’m at that blissful stage of Pinning and adding tracks to Spotify and generally gathering inspiration all over the shop! We have a year to go before ours in the South of France at the end of next May – in fact we’re going out next week for a pre-wedding visit & we’re taking our Mum’s along for the ride – I’m really hoping they’ll love the venue – fingers crossed! Anyhow I’m told constantly that it’s going to fly by, but even so, I’m really enjoying all the planning in a way I never expected – I’m not in the least bit arty, but your blog and Pinterest have inspired me to get crafty and I’m loving it, we’re even designing our own invites! Best of luck with your wedding – I’m sure it’s going to be just beautiful and I can’t wait for the pics (not least to get a little more inspiration!). Vicky x

  10. Pingback: The Uttering Bride: Could It Be You? | The Utter Blog

Leave a Reply

