Mascara Melt-Down

Help. Me.

Last week I bought a new mascara to replace one that was on it’s way out. Now I may currently have a make-up bag full of Clarins and Bobbi Brown products thanks to my recent nuptials, but I’m not so fussy when it comes to mascara. Unlike products like foundation and skin creams, I don’t believe you need to pay full whack for a tube of black gloop. Or not when you’ve found a product that just works.

mascara3

‘Good eggs’ in the mascara world.

My mascara brand of choice for the last goodness-knows-how-many-years has been Maybelline. I was an advocate for the Great Lash mascara for a while, before ‘upgrading’ to the Colossal Volum’ Express mascara which I’ve stuck to for a good few years now. I love the Colossal. I love the plump, wide, oval brush, and more importantly I love what it does to my eyelashes. Thicker, longer, even, natural-looking lashes; the Colossal Volume Express mascara is one of my most trusted friends.

What possessed me, therefore, to ‘shake things up’ last week, I don’t know. I didn’t go completely off course- I trust Maybelline to give good lash after all- but bamboozled by the HUGE array of similarly named items by this mammoth make-up brand (and slightly hungover and therefore not able to think properly), I ended up taking home the Colossal Volum’ Express Cat Eyes mascara.

Big mistake. Big. Huge, in fact. This mascara is most definitely not my friend. My heart sank as I pulled this spindly, pathetic-looking brush out for the first time, and as I brushed black clumps through my lashes and watched them curl and harden un-naturally (and in completely different directions), I knew this was going to be a very short-term relationship.

So I turn to you, oh wonderful readers. Before I go running back to the old faithful with my tail between my legs, I’m curious to know… which mascara do you use?? Have you tried others in the past and always returned to a particular favourite? As much as I love Maybelline this recent debacle has unnerved me and I’m up for trying something new, so do leave me a little note and if there’s a common theme I will give it a try!

I’m a woman currently sporting spiders legs around her eyes, people. Assist me.

Sama xxx

8 thoughts on “Mascara Melt-Down

  1. Hi Sama.
    I can only give a vote to Maybelline, it’s a recent purchase for me having wasted pots of (my mothers..!) money on YSL, Dior, Lancome (best of a bad bunch…) and all the other big names my mother spies on the Xmas wish list in the sunday mags, one swoosh of the wand and I end up with gloopy, black, wet lumps. How can a magazines tell us how wonderful YSL is when it clearly isn’t a patch on Maybelline at a 1/4 of the price?! Anyway, my mum will be £15 squids better off this year, it’s Maybelline Great Lash on my wish list and I may even have a pre-christmas splash out myself!

  2. I have been an avid fan of Rimmel Volume Flash for years, but recently took the advice of beauty blogger Tanya Burr and bought Maybeline The Falsies. Boy, am I glad I did. It is the best mascara I have ever used. Fact. 🙂

  3. I do work for Avon so am a little biaised but my current favourite is this fantastic new ‘wonderbrush’ mascara. It’s called Mega Effects http://avonshop.co.uk/product/make-up/eyes/mascara/avon-mega-effects-mascara.html?utm_source=&utm_medium=&utm_campaign=avonshop_201314 and I always get compliments on my eyelashes when I wear it (I should hasten to add that I do have naturally long lashes but it takes a full width brush to give them the ‘wow’ factor). Maybe worth a try if you are looking for something different…. xx

  4. Devoted blog follower here you should try the amazing Younique 3D mascara! It’s called 3D and comes with a 2 step process to actually use organic green tea fibers! When I want a bold eye I use the fibers, when I just want mascara I just use the base! It’s awesome! Let me know if you want more info!

  5. Without a doubt best mascara I’ve ever used is Benefit “They’re Real”. Gives length and volume, looks natural and nice fat brush. Trust me you’ll love it!

  6. Hello! I am a massive fan of Max Factor False Lash Effect… does exactly what it says on the tin! Love it! Always get asked if i have falsies on, or comments that my lashes are so thick and long-looking! I just got married (3 weeks ago – hence have been following your blog on the run up to your big day!) and made the biggest mistake by looking for a replacement mascara for our big day that was waterproof. I went for Lancome doll eyes which whilst not the worst waterproof product in the world, i just wish i had gone for my max factor faithful. and did i cry? not a single tear!!! so totes wasted and anoyed that i didnt just rock my usual flase lash effect 😦

Leave a Reply

