Paris & Joe: To Videographer or Not To Videographer?

Paris&Joe

The past month has been seriously productive and we have now booked videographers and a band! We had many a deliberation on whether or not to have a videographer. The cons were the cost and that Joe thought our wedding would end up having more “paparazzi” than guests. (Not one to be dramatic, clearly.) I loved the idea of being able to re-live the day in movement rather than just through stills, and I also loved the thought of having some guest messages captured a few beers in when the party was in full swing. Many a friend told us that not having a videographer was their biggest regret but we still sat on the fence. It was so hard to find wedding videos that didn’t make me cringe – be it the music or the cheesy couple shots – so we actually only found two that we loved. We eventually bit the bullet and met with Ignite Films at a Café Nero and immediately hit it off, chatting about our jobs, relationship and wedding plans. Just like the photographer, we left the meeting without a doubt in our minds that these were the chaps for us. And I say chaps because there are two of them! Which is great because I will get a peek at Joe’s pre-wedding prep, which I already imagine will consist of booze, booze and more booze. God help the registrar.

We booked the band through Alive Network which I would completely recommend doing. Not only do you know instantly which bands are available on your date, you also get a handy quote based on your date and location so a quick search allows you to find something perfect for your budget. Plus, most of the bands do a video introducing themselves and the music that they play which lets you get a feel for who they are. After a week on Alive Network I think I have heard enough renditions of Mr Brightside to last a lifetime! But we finally whittled it down to Teenage Kicks – a three piece from Brighton who couldn’t have designed a better playlist for us if they tried. They provide a free DJ service between sets and learn your choice of first dance song so I am pretty pleased with our choice.

In general wedding planning news, I am realllllllllly struggling to choose a colour scheme. The mezzanine level where we will actually get married is simple and I have decided to have all white/cream with possibly a hint of gold. I’m picturing paper lanterns, festoon lighting and a beautiful floral arch built from all kinds of white and cream flowers – I recently found out that my front running flower, the anemone, wont be in season which I was super gutted about. But downstairs where all the good stuff happens I want a frenzy of colour with a proper party feel. It really boils down to two schemes – reds, oranges and pinks, or turquoises, purples and blues. I am feeling slightly more swayed toward the former because the flowers in those colours are just amazing, but I am sure this battle will rumble on for a good few months. I am already planning cream bridesmaid dresses so that I don’t have to commit to a colour scheme until the last minute – some good forward thinking if you ask me!

The perfect arch, and a gratuitous shot of our awesome venue.

The perfect arch, and a gratuitous shot of our awesome venue.

Spicy vs tropical brights?!

Spicy vs tropical brights?!

So there you have it, a few more things crossed off the list and I am starting to see what our wedding day will look like. Let me know if any of you also deliberated over a videographer and what decision you eventually came to. And any opinions on the colour scheme would be great too!

Paris x

4 thoughts on “Paris & Joe: To Videographer or Not To Videographer?

  1. I’m getting married at the same venue next year! Will be checking out that website for bands later, thanks 😊
    I’m a big fan of the Orange/pink colour scheme but also think blues will look amazing in front of the sea backdrop. Look forward to your next post x

  2. Hi Kat, that is so exciting when is your big day? Definitely check it out although be prepared to lose ALOT of time because there are so many to choose from…
    That was my thinking too, the blues could be a little subtle nod to the coastal theme. It’s too hard to decide! Have you any ideas for your colours yet?x

    • 23rd April. Still can’t quite believe it!
      We are going for greys with little hints of peachy coral and gold. Although now that they’ve changed the drapes on the mezzanine to grey I’m worried that it will all look a bit too grey. Think I need to amp up the coral and gold!
      Have I said ‘grey’ too much?!

  3. I think we’ve decided not to go for a videographer, partly due to budget, partly due to the fact I hate hearing my own voice recorded. I don’t know if we’d ever watch it?! Then I see beautiful wedding videos online and panic that we’ve made a massive mistake – its so hard to decide!!

    Jennie x

Leave a Reply

